capcom live!

 

 

DSC_0866-small

This past Saturday Dave and I went to see Capcom Live featuring the Video Game Orchestra.  We had some time before the show, so we stopped by Assembly Row in Somerville to do some outlet shopping.

DSC_0841-small

As you can see, I snagged a few deals from Express!  I don’t usually shop there, but the outlet had some cute tops I couldn’t resist!

DSC_0846-small
DSC_0867-small
Since the concert we went to featured Capcom music, I decided to go with a Mega Man themed outfit.  I found this blue scuba knit dress in the back of my closet, and it was the perfect thing to wear with my light blue cardigan.  I originally purchased this dress last year when I dressed up as Sonic the Hedgehog for Spirit Week at school.  haha 🙂

DSC_0882-small
DSC_0896-small

It was so much fun to stroll around Assembly Row – they have added so much since the last time we were there!  It’ll definitely be a great place to hang out on a nice afternoon once the weather gets warmer.
DSC_0934-smallDSC_0883-small

To accessorize, I wore an 8-bit Mega Man pin – I love how he ties the whole outfit together!  I also made sure to carry around my video game sprite-themed purse.  They are both from ThinkGeek.  If you have never shopped at their website, I recommend you check it out!  They have so many wonderfully geeky products 🙂

DSC_0945-smallDSC_0948-small
DSC_0952-small

Oh, and I can’t forget to mention how cute my husband looked!  He was rocking a Dr. Wily pin…I just loved our coordinated accessories!DSC_0953-small

After the concert, we noticed that the MIT Green Building was displaying Tetris.  We recognized it immediately, since we played the game on the same building a few years ago.

Sure enough, they had the little podium set up so Dave played a round. I would have done the same, but by the time he finished my fingers were frozen!   Luckily I didn’t feel like I was missing out since I had played the last time.

DSC_0963-smallDSC_0969-small

 photo tetris-at-mit.gif

So cool though, right?!

whats-in-the-look-small

04-09-16

Dress:  Forever 21
Cardigan:  H&M (available here in other colors)
Bag:  ThinkGeek Sprite Bag by Pixelle
Shoes:  Naturalizer Natural Soul “Ego”
Pin:  ThinkGeek Mega Man Collectible Pin Set
Headband:  Claire’s

9 thoughts on “capcom live!

    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks Sara! If you get a chance you should totally go to MIT and play Tetris before they take it down. I’ll also let Dave know that you appreciate seeing him – sometimes he is too shy and doesn’t want me to post his pictures 🙂

      On Wed, Apr 13, 2016 at 10:39 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  1. Patrick

    Love this outfit! Mega Man was my absolute favorite game/character. I never moved much past 8 bit Nintendo though, so I don’t really understand Mega Man X… Most of my childhood was in Mega Man II. So thank you, this inspires me to consider a mega-inspired outfit.

    One question… Where are your tights from? I’ve been looking around for thick skin-colored tights and these look exactly like what I want. Unless you aren’t wearing tights and your legs are naturally flawless (in which case…grrrr!!!)

    Thank you soo much!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Patrick, it’s SO awesome that you were into Mega Man! I have a special place in my heart for the 8-bit games too 🙂

      Good eye on the tights – I like these more than wearing nude pantyhose since they are thick (and yes, they give the illusion of flawless legs!). I actually got them at a dance supply store when I was putting together my Leela as Clobberella costume (check that out here if you want: http://ourchangeofart.blogspot.com/2013/10/new-york-comic-con-13.html lol). I don’t recall the brand, which is why I didn’t include that info on my post. You can probably do a search online. They come in many sizes and colors, and they are thick, stretchy, and resilient because they are intended for dance. Let me know if you get a pair, and how you like them!

      On Wed, Apr 13, 2016 at 2:37 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
      1. Patrick Cameron

        Holy cow! You’ve had them that long??? I can’t wear a pair for more than 30 minutes without having something go horribly wrong! Do you wear them once a year?

        Like

  2. Patrick

    So I bought and received my dance tights! I may have found a new love. I bought one pair that is similar to the ones you have and one pair that is really shimmery. They make me feel a little like Barbie…

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      That’s great! I’m so glad you like them. I haven’t seen shimmery ones before, but they sound cool! 🙂

      On Wednesday, April 20, 2016, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: my favorite pants, take 2 | Dressing With Class

Leave a comment