hemlock gorge

DSC_0043-small

Well, it is officially Spring Break!

I love this time of year at work, since the end of the year is so much fun (yet hectic!).  When we get back next week, we are in full concert mode, with last minute preparations for performances with the kids.

DSC_01420-small rotate

DSC_0065-small crop

Dave and I had an action-packed weekend as well, but luckily we had some time to explore Hemlock Gorge in Newton.  It was such a nice area to walk around, but I definitely wasn’t wearing appropriate footwear!

I hope to go back when it is a bit warmer, and when I’m wearing sneakers 🙂
DSC_0047-small crop

DSC_0021-small

It was a bit chilly out, but I wasn’t in the mood to throw on tights.  So I grabbed some capri leggings to hide under my skirt and it was that perfect extra layer to keep my legs a bit toastier.

DSC_0055-small
DSC_0998-small crop

I have worn this skirt a few times, and I think it is just crying out for a petticoat.  I don’t own any, but I was wondering if any of you have suggestions for a good beginner petticoat. I want one that is not very full, but that will give a bit of oomph to my skirts and dresses.  Ideally it would also be less than $30.

DSC_0094-small crop

Accessorizing for this outfit was so much fun!  I wore one of my favorite bracelets – a gold one that says “hello” (I also own it in silver), along with some cute sunnies and a fun geometric metal headband.

DSC_0201-small

DSC_0121-small crop

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend, and enjoy your week! 🙂

DSC_0125-small

whats-in-the-look-small

04-16-16

Top:  Express Outlet
Skirt:  Unique Vintage Floral High Waisted Swing Skirt
Sunglasses:  Fossil
Headband: source unknown (sorry!)
Bracelet: Forever 21
Shoes:  Bakers

3 thoughts on “hemlock gorge

  1. Lindsey Puls (@HavClothWilTrav)

    I’ll have to check back to see if anyone gives some recommendations on petticoats…I’ve been wanting one for forever too! I even had one in my hands this weekend, but it just seemed so pricey…and I realized I really had no idea what I was looking for anyways! Your skirt is gorgeous, and Hemlock Gorge looks beautiful! I also love that you wore capri leggings – that is a really awesome idea! (Why have I never thought of this??)

    I hope you’re having a lovely spring break! 🙂

    ~Lindsey
    http://have-clothes-will-travel.com/

    Like

    Reply
  2. SaraLily

    I can go on and on about Malco Modes – they’ve got various styles with different levels of oomph. They’re a bit pricier, though. It’s worth it since they’re SUCH good quality. LindyBop also has some that aren’t as intense as other brands and they come with a slip built in. Perhaps they’ve got one on sale you could try?

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: blue & green | Dressing With Class

Leave a Reply

