a great day

DSC_0303-small

When these photos were taken, I couldn’t have been happier!

(Sorry if this is TMI…) A few weeks prior I had discovered a suspicious lump in my breast, and was anxious to see my doctor to find out what it was.  Breast cancer runs in my family, so of course I was concerned.  When I went in for the appointment, I was expecting that I would be told that it was nothing.

Instead, the doctor ordered me an ultrasound and a mammogram, which were scheduled for a week later.

DSC_0300-small

After what felt like the longest week ever I had the tests done, and was thrilled to find out that it was a benign cyst.  Yay!

FYI – the mammogram was quite painful, and I’m glad that I don’t have to go through that again until I’m 40! (that is, unless any other little bumps pop up)

DSC_0308-small

DSC_0316-small

Dave worked a half-day that day so he could accompany me to my appointment (and coincidentally also works at the same hospital where I got the tests done), so afterwards we decided to grab lunch then take a little walk around Faneuil Hall.

DSC_0322-small

DSC_0334-small

I have to be honest that I don’t love how this high-waisted skirt looks on my body.  I think it’s due to the fact that my torso is a little short as is, so wide waistband makes it look even shorter…but this skirt is SO comfy and was quite cheap so I’m not complaining 🙂

DSC_0346-small

Hope you have a great weekend!

DSC_0350-small

whats-in-the-look-small

04-05-17

Top:  Forever 21
Skirt:  Forever 21 Stripe Pleated Skirt
Sunglasses:  Isaac Mizrahi via Burlington Coat Factory
Fleece-Lined Tights: Marshall’s
Shoes:  Madden Girl

8 thoughts on “a great day

  1. Sneha

    I actually had the exact same experience in January (found a 4 cm lump, had to do an ultrasound and mammogram, and it ended up being a cyst). The experience totally freaked me out since my mom had breast cancer in her 40s. The dr told me I should get a mammogram every year and that cysts are really common as you get older. Anyway, I’m glad it just ended up being a cyst for both of us! (On a lighter note, that’s a super cute top.)

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      I’m so happy yours was just a cyst too! Scary though, right? It’s hard not to think of the worst when in those situations, especially when it runs in the family. It’s also a good reminder to be extra diligent with self exams and doctor visits 🙂

      On Sat, May 13, 2017 at 8:53 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. SaraLily

    OH GOD, GIRL WHAT!!?!?!?!? I am so relieved to hear it was a cyst and nothing scarier. Phew! Yeah, mammograms sound like TORTURE! I love the watermelons on your top – it’s so cute paired with the stripes! I think the high waist is quite cute on you!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks! I’m glad you like the high-waisted skirt…I felt like it didn’t suit me, however I think we are always see ourselves with a more critical eye than others do.

      As far as the mammogram, I knew it would be painful – but I honestly didn’t know it would be as bad as it was! The technician told me that since I’m younger it’s more painful, because the tissue is denser. Aughh…it was the worst! Maybe by the time I have to go through that again, my tissue will be soft and saggy…haha!! 🙂

      On Mon, May 15, 2017 at 9:38 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  3. Lindsey Puls

    Oh my gosh! I am so happy to hear as well that the cyst was benign. How terrifying! And yikes, sorry to hear the mammogram was so painful. ^ Haha! Good to know too that the mammogram might be less painful when we’re 40, though!

    And the outfit you wore is just adorable! I think the skirt looks great on you. And how fun are those watermelons?

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Yes, at least when we’re older there might not be as much pain! Haha! Though I’m sure it still won’t be enjoyable…

      Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂 Hope all is well, Lindsey!

      On Mon, May 15, 2017 at 2:00 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  4. Mona Shirdel

    Oh gosh. So happy to hear it was a benign cyst. So so glad for you.
    Also, I think the skirt makes your legs look really long and graceful rather than making your torso look short. And also, the outfit is super cute, love it.
    Hope you’re doing great.
    Much love,
    Mona

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks Mona! 🙂 And wow…I never thought of the skirt that way! Instead of the appearance of a stumpy torso, I have long legs. Love it!

      Hugs! ~Jen

      On Wed, May 17, 2017 at 1:18 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

