battling the wind

DSC_0578-smallDSC_0571-small

Hey guys!

It’s been a long time, I know….but I’m happy to be posting again!  I actually have a few outfits photographed and ready to go, so hopefully we can get at least a few weeks of regular posting 🙂

My parents were recently up visiting, which is always awesome.  We often see family in NY or FL, since our tiny apartment can’t accommodate guests – so it’s always a treat when they come up to see us here!

DSC_0546-small

We took these photos in the Common by the State House.  I just love the glamorous gold dome!  I’m surprised I haven’t done outfit photos here before, since it’s such a great backdrop.  Though I have to be honest I was camera shy at first!  I always am when there are lots of people around 🙂
DSC_0538-small

DSC_0531-small crop

Let’s talk about my dress for a second…isn’t it gorgeous?!  I purchased it a few weeks ago at Modern Millie Shop’s 11th anniversary event, and have been saving it to wear on Easter.  I know that Sara is going to be proud of me, since I finally pulled the trigger and bought a Bernie.  The print…the colors…the zip front…I just couldn’t resist!  It also helped that while in the store, Dave kept saying “Buy it. Buy it. Buy it.”

DSC_0581-small crop

DSC_0528-small

 photo easter-gif-park.gif

I’m also totally smitten with this purse…it’s just PERFECT for me!  If you don’t know, I am a violist and an orchestra teacher.  My students went nuts over this bag when I showed it to them last week at school.  They all want one now, haha!

I know it’s a cello (lack of chin rest, plus the description from Charming Charlie says so), but I couldn’t resist playing a little tune.  I’m such a dork! haha! (and for you keen-eyed musicians out there…apologies for the collapsed wrist. My bag was heavy and it was hard to hold up!)

DSC_0566-small crop

While in Boston, my parents were interested in visiting the JFK Presidential Library and Museum.  Dave and I have been there before, but didn’t mind heading over there again.

I just HAD to snag a shot of this beautiful campaign dress.  I think I want to sew a dress just like it (well, without “KENNEDY” on the belt) for the 4th of July.  Wouldn’t that be adorable?!

DSC_0456-small

After we were done walking through the museum, Dave and I wanted a sweet picture on the steps outside.  The only problem was the that wind was INSANE.

When the gusts came, we couldn’t make a good face since we were laughing so much.  Then, when the gusts finally stopped, we were still laughing and weren’t able to re-pose.

DSC_0460-small

DSC_0467-small

Luckily my mom kept snapping shots so she captured all of those in-between moments.

DSC_0464-small

DSC_0458-small

Since the stair photos didn’t work out, I thought maybe a nice picture by the harbor with the skyline in the background would be nice:

DSC_0503-smallDSC_0502-small

Oh well!

Easter weekend coincided with Marathon weekend this year, which was great because my dad is a fan.  We made sure to check out the pre-race fun on Boylston street, which included a sprint across the finish line.

DSC_0517-small

A few more family photos…

DSC_0587-small

DSC_0594-smallDSC_0598-smallDSC_0597-small

 photo Easter-in-Boston-gif.gif

I’m mesmerized by those eyebrows!

And one last shot, since my Dad wanted to get in on the cheesy outfit photo fun:

DSC_0604-small

whats-in-the-look-small

04-16-17

Dress:  Bernie Dexter Kelly Technicolor Honeycomb via Modern Millie Shop
Purse:  Charming Charlie Melodic Cello Crossbody
Heels:  Aldo Stromquist
Flats: (worn at museum) Sonoma via Kohl’s
Sunglasses:  Charming Charlie Backpacking Surf Rider Shades
Headband:  Claire’s

7 thoughts on “battling the wind

    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thank you so much Karen – and yes, it really was a fun day! It was beautiful and warm too…high 80s in Boston in April! 🙂

      On Mon, Apr 24, 2017 at 6:27 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  1. Bristol Jewell

    Love this Kelly on you!! I’m glad you got your first Bernie! 🙂 Sara and I are obsessed with Bernies, ha, and Kellys are the best! I have this print in the Jodi style, but I’m trying to sell it to buy the Kelly version.

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks so much Bristol! I have always held back on buying Bernies since the cost is usually out of my price range…but I lucked out and got a good deal on this one! I’m wondering though if this is going to start a new obsession – I’m not sure my wallet is ready for that!

      On Mon, Apr 24, 2017 at 4:26 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. SaraLily

    I AM SO HAPPY YOU POPPED YOUR BERNIE CHERRY!! I am also glad to hear one of us made Modern Millie’s party!!! I forgot to ask if you went. I am happy to hear and see that you did!!!! This is THE most perfect Bernie for you and I love those windy photos so much! THE BEST!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      YESSSS! I knew you would be proud! We can be Bernie Babes together now 🙂

      On Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 12:06 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: make me mod | Dressing With Class

Leave a Reply

