diy fashionista

dsc_0379-small
dsc_0405-small

This past Saturday, I was featured over at Cut Out + Keep as a DIY Fashionista!

I answered a set of interview questions, and also provided a tutorial for an item I am wearing this outfit:

dsc_0397-small

dsc_0408-small

It might actually be difficult to guess, since I am wearing FOUR different handmade items: my necklace, belt, bracelet, and skirt.   Do you think you know which one it was?

dsc_0413-small

I ended up making a tutorial for my adorable cover button bracelet!  It was the perfect project which allowed me to use some scraps that I had leftover after sewing this skirt.  I really hope that you check out the tutorial HERE!

One of my other accessories included my sewing machine necklace (which I created by threading a jewelry chain through a dollhouse sewing machine)…so when I was contemplating outfit locations, I KNEW we had to go to AllSaints on Newbury St.  Isn’t their sewing machine window display awesome?!?

dsc_0429-small

dsc_0435-small

Before I wrap up this post, I wanted to leave you with some photos of the skirt, sewn using fabric from Jo-Ann Fabrics and Simplicity’s 1200 pattern.  I cut my regular size (size 10), but I think I might go with a 12 next time.  This skirt hit (and fit) perfectly at my natural waist, but the wide waistband on my short torso made my top half look a bit shorter than I like.  Adding the belt on top made it look a lot better though!

I think if I cut it slightly larger, I can let the skirt fall more on my hips. OR, I can keep the measurements as-is and make a narrower waistband.

dsc_0081-small

dsc_0083-small

dsc_0088-small

I hope you have an amazing week!

whats-in-the-look-small

12-4-16.png

Top:  Express Outlet
Skirt:  made by me 🙂  (using Simplicity 1200)
Necklace:  made by me 🙂
Bracelet:  made by me 🙂  (find my tutorial HERE)
Belt:  made by me 🙂
Sunglasses: Charming Charlie Backpacking Surf Rider Shades
Shoes:  B.A.I.T. Demi Wedge Sandal via Tatyana
PetticoatHearts & Roses via Zulily

2 thoughts on “diy fashionista

  1. SaraLily

    LOVE everything about this! And yes, this HAD to be the backdrop for these photos. I’ve seen this window display on my one trip to Newbury Street and loved it to pieces.

    BTW, we got YOUR card and I LOVE IT. Such cutie patooties. Hope we get to see you guys soon!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

