happy halloween! (and diy skirt)

dsc_0812-smalldsc_0787-small

Halloween is my absolute favorite holiday!

I adore costumes (as proven by my obsession with cosplay), and of course I also love any excuse to eat lots of candy 🙂


dsc_0795-small
dsc_0810-small

Although not a full costume, I still wanted to wear something for Halloween to school today.  It was such a fun look so I took it for a test drive over the weekend.
dsc_0816-small

dsc_0859-small

Yesterday Dave and I walked around Davis Square in Somerville, did a little shopping and got some delicious bubble tea from Kung Fu Tea.  It was a gorgeous afternoon – just slightly cool with no wind and bits of sun popping through the clouds.

We had a fantastic day!dsc_0825-small
dsc_0837-small
dsc_0867-small

The accessories I wore make me so happy – adorable shoes I bought from Modern Millie Shop in Salem, Mario Bros. poison mushroom pin that Dave got me from Etsy for my birthday, cute headband, and this fun mint green wig!

Sometimes it’s the little details that pull the whole outfit together.
dsc_0865-small

The skirt was a pretty quick project.  I loosely followed a gathered skirt tutorial that I found on Gertie’s Blog for Better Sewing.  I had to make a few adjustments, and I think next time I make a gathered skirt I will change it a bit more to better suit my body.

Once I get that all figured out, maybe I’ll post a tutorial!

I got the awesome bat fabric from Joann Fabrics…I hope the kids at work don’t find it too creepy!
dsc_0887-small

dsc_0889-small

dsc_0892-small

Hope you all have an amazing Halloween!

whats-in-the-look-small

10-31-16Skirt:  made by me 🙂 (using this tutorial and this fabric from Joann Fabrics)
Top:  Planet Gold via Macy’s
Jacket:  Candie’s via Kohl’s
Pin:  Poison Mushroom Pin via ChinookCrafts on Etsy
Shoes:  B.A.I.T. Black Roni Heel via Modern Millie Shop
Wig:  Hiliss Mint Green Cosplay Wig via Amazon
Headband:  Claire’s (not shown in collage above)

2 thoughts on “happy halloween! (and diy skirt)

  1. haveclotheswilltravel

    That skirt is amazing, Jen! Seriously! You are such a talented seamstress. Love the wig too. 🙂 And all the accessories are adorable. Your headband brought back so many memories…I worked at Claire’s when I was in high school a million years ago and those particular headbands were the bane of my existence. People were constantly throwing them on the floor and they never stayed on the headband rack too nicely. Good times, haha! That’s too bad the kids can’t dress up…that was always my favorite day when I was was in school and when I did substitute teaching.

    Hope you had an amazing Halloween!

    ~Lindsey

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thank you Lindsey! I can’t believe you worked at Claire’s….75% of my hair accessories are from their store, lol. I can definitely imagine how frustrating it would have been to keep picking headbands up off the floor. Especially since most of the customers are probably kids/tweens who are either oblivious or don’t care!

      Hope you are having a fab week! ~Jen

      On Tue, Nov 1, 2016 at 1:32 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

