modern millie in a diy dress

dsc_0539-small
dsc_0630-small

(note: the dress fits better on my body than it does on the dress form, so kindly ignore the puckering near the bust)

Let’s first talk about the dress.

I sewed it using my absolute favorite pattern, Simplicity 1419 (sadly no longer available!).  I love this pattern so much because of the pleated skirt and sweet peter pan collar, plus the fact that it is relatively quick to sew.

temporary

So cute!

I had planned to make this for the first day of school, and started the bodice sometime in August.  Well, other things got in the way (as they do!), and I ended up forgetting about my plan until 8pm the night before school started.  Thankfully, that evening I was able to complete the bodice, sew the skirt, put them together, add a zipper and sew the hem….AND get a good night’s sleep.

dsc_0632-small

The fabric is an adorable cotton print I found at Joann Fabrics.  I got it a while ago, so I’m not really sure who the manufacturer is – sorry!  (While trying to figure it out, I stumbled upon this similar fabric in a different color scheme.)

dsc_0635-small

To make the hemming a little easier, I just used some bias tape.  I had never done that on a hem before, and man!  It was a lot faster.  (ignore the wrinkles here too…I took these photos after I wore the dress all day)

Now, on to the shopping!

dsc_0543-small

Sara (In a Nutshell…) and I have been dying to visit an adorable store in Salem, Modern Millie Shop.  I had actually been there once before this summer, but I was with a group of people who had no interest in checking it out and I felt like I couldn’t spend a proper amount of time in there.  Ever since, I had been wanting to go back!

dsc_0534-small

dsc_0535-small

We had the loveliest time browsing through the shop, trying things on, and pondering potential purchases (we bought the pieces above, plus I got a few other things I can’t wait to share!)

It’s impossible to be in Millie’s without smiling…look at all of these pretties!

dsc_0536-small

dsc_0537-small

(Thanks, Sara, for snapping the pics above)

When we got to the store we had our guys head over to Bit Bar to enjoy some drinks while we shopped, and eventually we made our way back to join them.  Between drinks and dinner we strolled through Salem and found this cool area to take some photos:

dsc_0564-small

dsc_0574-small

dsc_0576-small-crop

dsc_0578-small-crop

dsc_0596-small

Of course, since Sara and I are…well…Sara and I…we also snapped this one:

dsc_0603-small

Plus, we were in Salem so it seemed appropriate  🙂

I’ll leave you with a few random shots – the boys, a gif, and a closeup of my outfit.  Thanks for stopping by!

dsc_0606-small

dsc_0619-small

 

 photo salem-gif.gif

 

dsc_0616-small

whats-in-the-look-small

09-25-16

Dress:  made by me 🙂  (Simplicity 1419 pattern and fabric from Joann Fabrics)
Belt: source unknown
Headband:  Charming Charlie Kendal Intertwined Headband
Cardigan:  Say What? via Kohl’s
Taco Pin:  Charming Charlie
Guitar Pin:  Forever 21 Southwestern Pin Set
Purse:  Jo Totes Millie Mustard
Shoes:  Naturalizer Natural Soul “Ego”

6 thoughts on “modern millie in a diy dress

  1. SaraLily

    Oh my gosh, these pics are the best of us. It’s no wonder the guys are happy to ditch us when they can! HA! What a fun afternoon and your DIY dress is seriously the cutest thing. You’re right, that pattern is PERFECTION!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thank you Sara – it was a great day, and so much fun!! We have to make a shopping date together at least every few months 🙂

      On Mon, Oct 3, 2016 at 10:07 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thank you! I wish I wasn’t so slow when it comes to sewing…if I could make the process faster, then I could consider selling 🙂

      On Thu, Oct 6, 2016 at 11:00 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thank you Rebecca! I wish I had more time to sew…I would probably have 30 of those dresses by now! 🙂

      If you ever travel to the Boston area, definitely let me know so you, Sara, and I can all go shopping at Modern Millie together!

      On Tue, Oct 18, 2016 at 4:27 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

