anxious and excited

DSC_0735-small

DSC_0727-small

Hey folks!  Hope you are having a great week so far.

It’s that time of year again – back to school!  I always get anxious/excited near the end of August.  Anxious for yet another change in routine, but excited that I get to return to the job I love, work with my amazing colleagues, and see all of the kids that I have missed over the summer!!


DSC_0730-small
DSC_0739-small

Being a music teacher means that I have the privilege of educating the students in my school from first grade through fifth.  Each year I say goodbye to my beloved students who will be entering middle school, and hello to a new group of 6 year olds who are excited about everything, yet need to be trained on how to properly function with teachers and peers.

They are the ones who truly make the quickest progress, because by mid October they seem to have the routine down! (most of them, that is…ha!)

DSC_0750-smallDSC_0762-small crop

DSC_0766-small

We took these photos at Prospect Hill in Somerville.  Isn’t the view of Boston gorgeous?!

It was nice and warm out, with a slight breeze.  I recently shared the gif below over on Instagram.  I’m curious if you think of the same thing my husband did…

 photo prospect-hill-gif-best.gif

He said it looked like I was farting!   Hahah!!  Love the way that man thinks – he’s always good for a laugh 🙂

DSC_0775-small

This french fry pin from Forever 21 makes me so happy.  It came in a set with the hamburger pin I wore recently, and there’s also a soda one.  The set of three was only about $6!  I hope they continue to make more enamel pins like these.

I also wanted to draw your attention to my hair.  It’s naturally curly, but I almost always straighten it nowadays.  When I don’t have time to dry it I usually end up braiding pigtails or throwing it in a ponytail. However, this time I went for a different braided look, and I love how it looks presentable (and cute) with little effort!

DSC_0778-small

My thick hair can be a little challenging to braid when wet, but I didn’t care if it came out messy – so the total styling time ended up being about 5 minutes.

The only pain was that it took FOREVER to dry. After a full day in the braids, my hair was still wet when I took them out before bed.  #curlyhairproblems!
DSC_0783-small

DSC_0784-small crop

DSC_0792-small

DSC_0800-small

whats-in-the-look-small

prospect hill.pngDress:  ModCloth Bake Shop Browsing Dress (Emily and Fin)
Purse:  Jo Totes Millie Mustard
Sunglasses:  H&M
Shoes:  Old Navy
Pin:  Forever 21 Fast Food Pin Set
Belt:  Borrowed from another dress

8 thoughts on “anxious and excited

  1. SaraLily

    Firstly, hmm yes, I know that thick hair conundrum very well! When I wash my hair, it is still damp after lunch in some parts haha UGH!

    Secondly, I LOVE your hair like this – it came out super cute with the braids pulled back!

    Thirdly, I am still so in love with the fact that you’re a music teacher. It’s got to be such a fun job!!!

    Fourthly (??), your hubby cracks me up. Farting! Only a man would think of that! I can see he and Cody getting along nicely…. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      1. YES! It’s so annoying, isn’t it? Short haired/straight haired/thin haired people are dry within 30 minutes of leaving the shower. Lucky ducks!

      2. Thank you!

      3. Thanks again, girl 🙂

      4. Haha, Dave and I are (both!) always up for good fart humor. Can’t wait ’til we all meet!

      On Tue, Aug 23, 2016 at 9:54 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. Mona

    I can relate to your curly hair problems! Haha!! But your hair looks really lovely like this. I would love a tutorial if you feel like you’re up for it.
    And the outfit!!! OMG! So cute! I love the primary colours! The heels are so pretty! And that dress is adorable.
    And lastly, I applaud you for being a teacher – you guys are the best! 😉

    Hope you’re having a great week.
    Much love,
    Mona

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      I’m sure your hair takes even longer to dry than mine!! 🙂 If I can manage a tutorial I certainly will…it is such an easy hairstyle.

      Thank you for the comment about teachers. It’s always nice to hear when the profession is appreciated 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your week, Mona!

      On Wed, Aug 24, 2016 at 3:21 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  3. Lindsey Puls (@HavClothWilTrav)

    I, unfortunately, can’t relate to curly, thick hair problems haha. I have the exact opposite issues! 🙂 But your hair looks adorable like this! It was the first thing I noticed when I opened up this post! Also, your super cute pins are from Forever 21 for $6?! I am off to F21 this weekend then! Haha. Also, farting was not the first thing that came to my mind with your gif, haha! But now that you said that I can’t stop thinking it lol.

    I hope you have a lovely start to your school year, Jen!

    ~Lindsey

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      YES – go to forever 21!! I wish I had known you would have wanted them, I would have grabbed them the last time I was there! I usually pay like 12 bucks for one, so the ones at F21 are quite the bargain 🙂

      On Wed, Aug 24, 2016 at 7:33 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

