outfit remix

DSC_0835-small

Don’t you love how you can take a tried-and-true outfit, tweak a few things, then end up with a new look?! Well I did just that for this outfit.

Do you remember when I met Lindsey last summer? Here’s a little reminder:

 photo in-boston-with-lindsey-gif.gif

(please check out the full post if you want to know what’s going on in that gif!)

Same skirt, same tank top, even the same sunglasses!  However I changed my shoes, brooch, hair (oh my it’s so long now), and added a belt, and now I have this:

DSC_0844-small

I love it…the same, but different  🙂

One other thing was different, which you might not have seen had the wind not blasted through at just the right moment…

DSC_0972-small crop

Whoo!  A petticoat!

It’s my first one. I feel like this is a good starter petticoat, like I have my petticoat training wheels on or something.  I asked a few weeks ago if any of you had suggestions for one, and my friend Sara pulled through!  She is the queen of the petticoat, and I knew that she would be a good resource. She pointed me towards Zulily when they had a Hearts & Roses sale and the rest is history!

I love that it is not very full, so it is not too much of a change for me.  It just gives a bit of body and life to my skirts and dresses.  If my relationship with it goes well, I might be shopping for more soon!  Thanks again, Sara! 🙂
DSC_0815-small
DSC_0849-small

So the new brooch that I am wearing is of Mad Madam Mim from the Sword in the Stone, and it was sent to me by the lovely Erin from her new Etsy shop, The Ambrosia Bowl.

DSC_0009-small

You should check it out…she’s adding new hand-painted wooden brooches, including a Ralph Wiggum that is just calling out to me!

817716

Man, it really was windy on Saturday!  Dave and I went to the Greenway by the North End/Faneuil Hall area to check out the Open Market.  It was lovely and warm though, so I can’t complain.  We got some good grub and I also bought a little fork brooch.  I can’t wait to show you!

DSC_0956-small

The man who sold it to me said (referring to the brooch I was wearing), “Is that Mad Madam Mim?!”  Why yes sir, it is 🙂

DSC_0889-small

greenway photo greenway-gif_1.gif

DSC_0016-small

 

DSC_0934-small

(oh yea, they have big Zodiac animal heads at the Greenway now too, lol)

DSC_0910-small

whats-in-the-look-small

05-14-16

Tank Top:  Express
Skirt: Forever 21 Polka Dot A Line Skirt
Belt: borrowed from this dress
Petticoat:  Hearts & Roses via Zulily
Brooch:  TheAmbrosiaBowl via Etsy (c/o)
Shoes:  Old Navy
Sunglasses:  Betsey Joshnson via Marshalls

3 thoughts on “outfit remix

  1. Pingback: a makeshift marilyn moment | Dressing With Class

  2. Lindsey Puls (@HavClothWilTrav)

    I thought I recognized that skirt! 😉 This outfit is adorable too! I love that gif, haha. And you got a petticoat! I am so going to have to check out Hearts & Roses…I’ve wanted one for ages but have yet to figure out where to buy one.

    Like

    Reply
  3. SaraLily

    Yay! I am so glad you got yourself a “starter” petticoat. It’s the perfect amount of oomph to start you off and adds just enough to this skirt. So glad it worked out! I can’t wait to check out this Etsy shop – I love finding new shops for brooches!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

