happy birthday, dressing with class blog!

DSC_1271-blogiversary small

Woohoo, the day is here!  I started this blog one year ago, and I am so thrilled with its progress over the last 365 days.  I’m sure if you head over to my early posts, you will agree that I have improved – and much of that is because I was able to convince my husband to go out and take photos with me! 🙂

If you want to read more about why I started Dressing With Class, please check out this post.

DSC_1258-small

 

DSC_1241-small

These pictures were taken last weekend in Albany – we were there for my cousin’s wedding.  Isn’t the New York State Capitol Building gorgeous!?  It was worth the walk in the cold from our hotel to check it out.

DSC_1263-small
DSC_1265-small

I’m totally in love with this dress from Lindy Bop, which I was able to snag for $13.99!  The cardigan was also on sale:  $10.99.  I purchased this outfit for myself, and also bought a matching one for my niece!  She lives in Florida so I’ll have to mail it to her.  It’s so cute that they sell matching mother/daughter dresses.  I can’t wait for her to find out that she has the same dress as Aunt Jen! 🙂 hehe.

As happy as I am with the dresses, I’m not happy with their size chart.  I don’t usually tell people my measurements or size, but I’m hoping this might help if any of you plan on ordering from them.  I have a 26″ waist, and usually wear size XS.  Their size chart stated that the XS has a 25.5″ waist. Since the fabric has stretch, and I like my bodices fitted, I went ahead and ordered the XS.

I was shocked when it finally came in the mail, and it was so big!  I could grab almost two full inches of fabric from the waist, and the dress was big in the bust as well.  The company carries an XXS size, which I guess I will order in the future.  But seriously…why even have measurements if your garments don’t match up with them?  I emailed the company and they apologized, stating that “different styles of our dresses allow for different fittings.”  So frustrating!

DSC_1273-small

 photo albany-gif_4.gif

Luckily, I was able to belt the dress with an elastic belt I made, bunching up the excess fabric in the back.  The little shrug covers up the bunching, so for now it’s fine.  I’m planning on taking the dress apart and taking it in so I can wear it in the summer with no cardi.  I can’t really complain since the dress was so cheap, but I would have liked to order the correct size from the beginning.  Plus, the company is located in the UK, so exchanging or returning the dresses would be a pain.  I just hope my niece’s dress fits her!
DSC_1289-smallDSC_1304-small
DSC_1307-small

Oooh – get a load of this purse!  It cracks me up.  It was a gift from my Aunt and Uncle, congratulating me on my Create and Craft TV appearance!  Thanks again, Aunt Bern and Uncle Mike (and Emma and Joey!)

DSC_1278-small

Please head over to Instagram if you entered my Betsey Johnson Clock Purse giveaway – I’ll be announcing the winner later today!

whats-in-the-look-small

01-23-16

Dress:  Lindy Bop “Lana” Teal Floral Party Dress
Cardigan:  Lindy Bop Bogart Red Knitted Shrug
Bag:  Betsey Johnson Kitchi Lady Crossbody Bag (gift from my Aunt and Uncle, via TJ Maxx)
Shoes:  Old Navy Ballet Wedges
Sunglasses:  Fossil Kathleen Cat Eye
Fleece-Lined Tights:  Primark
Belt: made by me 🙂

6 thoughts on “happy birthday, dressing with class blog!

  1. SaraLily

    I am surprised the size chart worked so against you! LindyBop is always spot on for me and I am always a M in their dresses every time and they fit me perfectly. I guess it depends on the body type. I know everyone gushes over how well PUG clothes fit yet I struggle with them always fitting me weird. Hmm…. it looks spectacularly cute though!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      I have never tried PUG clothes before, but it’s good to know that the fitting can be weird. I think I’ll just have to find a blogger that has approx. the same measurements as I do, and then buy clothes in the same size they do! Women’s sizing is so inconsistent..and frustrating!

      On Fri, Jan 29, 2016 at 10:57 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

