nerd pride

DSC_0037-small

DSC_0050-small

I was definitely a nerd in high school.  I was on the math team, robotics team, student government, school newspaper, drama club, student leadership, French club, and in the marching band.

I still consider myself nerdy, so I was excited when students at school asked me to participate in their Nerd Pride day.

(by the way, I took these photos at the Boston Public Library…isn’t the reading room incredible?!)

DSC_0056-small

With the exception of the faux glasses, this is an outfit I would typically wear.  I love how bow ties look on women (hello, Janelle Monae!), so I knew I wanted to incorporate one into my look.

DSC_0081-small

DSC_0090-small

DSC_0093-small

I made the bow tie myself using a tutorial I found on YouTube (link at bottom of post).  It’s a no-sew tutorial, but I went ahead and sewed mine for extra stability. I created it using a faux leather that I had on hand…I think it looks so cute!
For my earrings, I spelled out “nerd”- just for a touch of fun and whimsy: DSC_0103-smallDSC_0120-small

 photo bpl-gif.gif

Gosh, how do people with glasses take pictures?  Almost every one that Dave took ended up with an awkward glare. However, I love that if you look closely, you can see the reflection of Copley Square in the picture below!

DSC_0137-small

DSC_0146-small

whats-in-the-look-small

unnamed

Top:  H&M
Skirt:  Forever 21
Bowtie:  made by me 🙂 (using this tutorial)
Glasses:  purchased at Newbury Comics (also here)
Earrings:  H&M
Shoes:  Madden Girl

6 thoughts on “nerd pride

  1. SaraLily

    Yeeeeaahhh glasses can be annoying. All my glasses have an anti-glare coating on them. As a photographer, I appreciate that extra when I order a new pair. It helps at night (less glare from headlights) and works great when taking pics.

    I love this outfit, by the way. Love girla in a bowties!! It’s so fun! =)

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Anti-glare! That would be perfect 🙂

      Luckily I don’t need prescription glasses yet, but the women in my family tend to get them in their 50s….so I’ll have to remember that tip! Until then, I’ll be wearing my glare-heavy glasses for fun/fashion purposes, hehe.

      On Thu, Nov 19, 2015 at 9:50 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. Serli

    Oh my goodness you look so cute! Wow, that reading room and library are just amazing. What a beautiful backdrop to your lovely outfit! I have the same problem photographing when I’m wearing my eyeglasses. They’re the cute vintage-inspired cat-eye type (and they weren’t cheap either, not my wisest financial decision but that’s another story…) and I’d LOVE to include them in more photos. But… they never come out looking nice 😦 haha. Also, I was a total nerd in high school too! Yay nerds!

    xo, Serli
    http://www.lesoleilchic.blogspot.com

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks so much Serli! I would love to see you in your glasses sometime- I’m sure they’re adorable!

      On Fri, Nov 20, 2015 at 4:00 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Robotics team was the best! I went to a huge high school (over 1,000 in my graduating class…and most classes had around 1,200!), and one of the benefits was that there were so many extracurricular activities! I tried to participate in all of them, and I have the yearbook photos to prove it, haha 🙂

      On Fri, Nov 20, 2015 at 12:58 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

