halloween – rosie the riveter

DSC_0649-small with logoDSC_0653-small

I love Halloween!  It’s definitely my favorite holiday…even better than Christmas!

  • I’ll take any excuse to wear a costume
  • Halloween music is awesome
  • I’m addicted to candy 🙂

For me, Halloween season starts on October 1st…my students then have to deal with a full month of spooky and silly songs for the holiday.  Most of them love it just as much as I do, so it all works out.  Plus, it’s a great excuse to introduce and reinforce minor tonality!
DSC_0627-small
DSC_0690-smallThis is the costume that I wore to school on Friday.  None of the other teachers dress up, but everyone knows they can expect me to be wearing a costume, wig, or crazy outfit for Halloween!  Even though most students (and many teachers) had no idea who Rosie the Riveter is, it was a great opportunity to give them a little history lesson!
DSC_0642-small

The “real” Rosie has a Westinghouse Electric Service button on her collar, but I went ahead and made a “We Can Do It” pin to show the kids.  I created it out of one of my favorite craft materials, shrink plastic.

DSC_0655-small DSC_0665-small

This was my first time attempting a vintage-inspired hairstyle, so I apologize for my poorly executed roll there.  I’m determined to practice, since I adore vintage hair!

I also went for a headband look instead of a full head scarf.  I spent about 40 minutes Thursday night trying to make the scarf look good, but I failed every time!  I have a lot of hair (even when straightened), and I looked like a Conehead with it all shoved in there.  If you have any tips, please let me know! 🙂

 photo rosie-the-riveter-gif.gif

DSC_0671-small
DSC_0713-smallDSC_0730-smallDSC_0739-smallDSC_0768-small

I wore a TOTALLY different costume to a friend’s party on Saturday night.  I didn’t have time to photograph it before leaving, so I’ll try to get some pictures taken to share with you soon!

Did you wear a costume for Halloween?  If so, what were you?DSC_0710-bw smallDSC_0636 -bw smallDSC_0635-bw small

whats in the look-small

10-30-15Jumpsuit:  Forever 21 Denim Utility Jumpsuit
Top:  H&M Tube Top
Head Scarf:  made by me 🙂  (using this fabric from Joann Fabrics)
Pin:  made by me 🙂
Boots:  Madden Girl Gamblez – Macy’s

9 thoughts on “halloween – rosie the riveter

    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks Lindsey! I would love to see you with vintage-inspired hair, especially now that it’s red! I think it would look great.

      Hope you had a great Monday! ~Jen

      On Mon, Nov 2, 2015 at 6:35 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  1. SaraLily

    Such an awesome costume – I mean, props to you for being so dang cute that you can pull off a jumpsuit!! Haha! You could wear that everyday and make it look good, girl!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Hehe, thank you SaraLily! I was surprised that I actually liked the jumpsuit – it was my first time wearing one, and I was also thrilled that it was comfy!!

      On Tue, Nov 3, 2015 at 9:08 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks Joscie! I’ll have to go check FB to see if you posted any photos of you as a bee…I’d love to see it! 🙂

      On Sat, Nov 7, 2015 at 4:27 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: high boots, high pony | Dressing With Class

  3. Pingback: 2015 | Dressing With Class

  4. Pingback: happy halloween! (and diy skirt) | Dressing With Class

Leave a Reply

