new york comic con – part 1

DSC_0377-small

I’m back from my 2 week break!  As some of you know already, I attended New York Comic Con last weekend.  I am so excited to share my costume (soon!), but today I’ll show you what I wore on Sunday to the convention.

DSC_0361-small

Yes…predictable outfit choice, but of course I had to put on my home-sewn Marvel comics skirt!  To go along with it, I wore a necklace I received for free(!) through ifchic.  Technically, it’s licensed with DC Comics, but hopefully no one will complain that I mixed two rivaling publishers 🙂DSC_0358-smallDSC_0367-small

 photo nycc-outfit-gif.gif

I love wearing this Jump From Paper purse at conventions because the color pops, and I always get a lot of compliments on it!
DSC_0380-smallDSC_0391-small

whats in the look-small

10-11-15Top:  H&M
Skirt:  made by me 🙂  (McCall’s M6438 pattern, Marvel Retro fabric)
Shoes:  L.L. Bean
Necklace:  nOir Jewelry Pow DC Comics Necklace – ifchic
Purse:  Jump From Paper “Cheese” 

If you are curious what Sunday was like at NYCC, you can keep scrolling…

DSC_0235-2 DSC_0236-small DSC_0268-small

Dave and I always love having at least one day where we don’t wear costumes, because it gives us the chance to really check everything out without getting stopped every two minutes to pose for photos.

We saw some great figures…

DSC_0247-smallDSC_0277-smallDSC_0344-small

…and a life sized dinosaur!  It was either the best animatronic creature I have ever seen, or a very talented person was inside.  The movement was spot on!DSC_0328-smallDSC_0292-small

My favorite part of NYCC is Artist Alley:
DSC_0278-small

Jim Cheung
DSC_0281-small

Richard Isanove

DSC_0284-smallSimone Bianchi

DSC_0291-small

Jim Mahfood

As always, there were some amazing cosplayers!
DSC_0298-small

Different Spideys were perched up there all day.

DSC_0243-small

Marvel vs. Capcom

DSC_0285-smallDSC_0287-small

Haha!  Clever Rocketeer.

DSC_0297-small

Ruby Rhod was busy, so he couldn’t pose for us.DSC_0299-smallDSC_0301-small

We saw Rufio propose to Captain Hook.  So sweet!

DSC_0312-small

The best Penguin I’ve seen.

DSC_0323-small

The cutest family cosplay of the day…DSC_0335-small

…and runner-up!  Look at little Nibbler!

DSC_0326-smallA fantastic Green Arrow with the perfect facial hair.
DSC_0334-small

Macho Man Randy Savage, complete with Slim Jims.
DSC_0349-small

And lastly, Ryu fulfilled our request for a…

DSC_0350-small

Shor –

DSC_0351-small

yuken!

We had such a great time!  Stay tuned for my cosplay post! 🙂

10 thoughts on “new york comic con – part 1

  1. Lindsey Puls (@HavClothWilTrav)

    It looks like you guys had so much fun! I LOVE your outfit! And mixing DC and Marvel is totally acceptable in this case :). Your Jump From Paper bag goes so perfectly with this outfit!

    And all the cosplays were awesome! I really loved Rudy Rhod, though! And holy smokes, that Green Arrow cosplay was spot on! Oh, and if I ever have kids they would all have to dress up like the Star Wars family at least once a year. Haha.

    I can’t wait to see your cosplay post!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks Lindsey! Although Dave and I don’t have kids yet, I know we are going to have them wear costumes with us (whether they like it or not! haha!)

      I really hope you can get tickets next year to NYCC, it would be fun to hang out there together! I think they usually go on sale in May.

      On Mon, Oct 19, 2015 at 9:48 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. Tasnim

    Love this!! Thanks so much for sharing. Your outfit looks perfect for the occasion. The family cosplayers were really cute. And I thought captain hook looked too pretty until I read your caption 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. SaraLily

    Yay! So fun!! my Jump From Paper laptop bag may be from the same line yours is – it has the same colors only mine looks more like a suitcase (although it is smaller and fits just my laptop haha). I love their stuff – everyone looks twice to make sure they’re seeing it correctly. It’s a cartoon! =)

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      I wish the bags weren’t so expensive – I think I would have like 10 by now if they were cheaper! Although the quality is really good, so I think they are a good investment 🙂

      On Tue, Oct 20, 2015 at 9:07 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: another captain hook reference? | Dressing With Class

    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thank you Kristian! I just love going to conventions, and getting to wear themed outfits/cosplays makes it even better! 🙂

      On Fri, Oct 30, 2015 at 3:46 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

