my birthday!

DSC_1281-bw small

On Monday, since Dave and I both had off from work, we went out to celebrate my birthday!  It was pretty low key, which was exactly what I wanted.  First we headed into Chinatown for a nice lunch, then did some shopping in Downtown Crossing.   (I ended up getting a really cute jacket at H&M!)


DSC_1280-smallWe also stopped by the Army & Navy store to see if we could find any props for our next (top secret) cosplay 🙂  We really only just got started on them, and I’m sure we will be scrambling last minute to finish them before New York Comic Con in October.  Only a few weekends left, and we are travelling for two of them.  Wish us luck!
DSC_1291-smallDSC_1281-small

A few weeks ago my friend Lindsey posted about a company called ifchic.  By browsing their website, you can earn money towards a purchase on the 24th of the month.   Sounds scammy, right?!  Well, I trust Lindsey and figured that if she had a good experience with them, it was worth a try.  I diligently collected my coins each day, and was able to redeem them for this cute skirt!   All I had to do was pay for the shipping, which was around five bucks.

I wasn’t sure if I loved the skirt when I got it, since it is super high-waisted (and a little large in the waist).  But it was essentially free, so I wanted to figure out a way to make it work.  Dave suggested that I wear my “heavyweight champion of the world” belt – which is basically what we call any wide belt.  Because we are weird like that.   And you know what?  It did the trick!

 photo theater-gif.gifDSC_0011-small

whats in the look-small

09-07-15Tank Top:  Express
Skirt: Eliatt Eclipse Stripe Pleated Skirt – ifchic 
Purse
:  Fossil Keyper Floral Crossbody
Necklace:  Jane Stone Dinosaur Vintage Necklace – Amazon
Belt:  ModCloth Sash Samba Belt in Black
Sunglasses:  source unknown (from thrift store)
Shoes:  Naturalizer

6 thoughts on “my birthday!

    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      I know, you should check it out! It seemed too good to be true at first, but sure enough, the free skirt arrived! Let me know how it goes for you if you do it.

      On Thu, Sep 10, 2015 at 1:48 AM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  1. Amanda C

    I participated last month too for ifchic and got a really cute pair of earrings that I thought I might want to wear to Comic-Con too! I’m still between working around the earrings or buying this cute light saber skirt I saw and doing something Star Wars themed. I’ll be there that Saturday though, would love to meet up if you happen to be there too!
    XO Amanda | Sans Scrubs

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Awesome that you are going to Comic Con too! Saturday is usually the busiest for you, but we can definitely try to coordinate an opportunity to meet! Sounds fun! 🙂

      On Thu, Sep 10, 2015 at 2:10 PM, Dressing With Class wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

