is it ladylike?

DSC_1036-small

Last week Dave and I headed over to Harvard’s Arnold Arboretum for a stroll in the warm weather.  I think we got there at about 10:30 a.m., and the temperature was already in the 80s!  I’ll be holding onto summer for as long as possible, so it’s awesome that we are still enjoying some hot days up in Boston.

DSC_1014-smallDSC_1027-small

I felt very dainty and ladylike in this outfit, and it was fun to get some extended use out of this dress.  Yes, you read correctly-  my “top” is actually a dress!!
DSC_1051-small

Once it got a little too hot outside, I stripped down and emerged in a shorter hemline, hehe.  Is the photo below still ladylike?  I’m not so sure…DSC_1078-small DSC_1089-small

I don’t really wear this dress very often because it is sooooo short.  I always find myself tugging at the fabric in the back to make sure I stay covered up.  (note: it was only $18 at Marshall’s a few years ago!) I think it goes without saying that I certainly wouldn’t wear this one to work – unless I had a skirt on top! DSC_1093-small DSC_1100-small

 photo arnold-arboretum-gif.gif

(sorry, this gif isn’t my best work…lol)

Before I wrap things up, can we please talk about this purse for a moment?  I spotted it at the Aldo Accessories store in the Cambridgeside Galleria Mall and instantly fell in love.  Sadly, the chain was kind of screwed up and the employee said they couldn’t discount it :/  It felt like it was a sign to walk away.

I spent the next week or so fantasizing about it so I looked it up online to see if I could get one that wasn’t damaged.  Out of stock!  I went to a different Aldo store – out of stock!  They looked up to see where else it was available, and apparently there were only 7 left in the US.  And guess what?!  FIVE of them were in the Cambridgeside Galleria Mall!  Back I went, and sure enough, they had some factory-sealed bags in the back of the store.  Were they there all along?  Why didn’t the first employee tell me that although the one in the front of the store was damaged, there were pristine ones in the back?   I guess I’ll never know…

DSC_1136-small

whats in the look-small

08-30-15Dress:  Sans Souci – Marshall’s
Skirt:  made by me 🙂  (McCall’s M6438 pattern)
Necklace:  Forever 21
Purse:  Aldo
Shoes:  B.A.I.T. Demi Wedge Sandal – Tatyana
Sunglasses:  Charming Charlie Backpacking Surf Rider Shades
Hair:  Forever 21 Oversized Bow Clip Set

3 thoughts on “is it ladylike?

  1. Pingback: 2015 | Dressing With Class

Leave a Reply

