a hair experiment

DSC_0254-small

Have you ever seen those tutorials where you roll your hair up, tie the pieces with rags, and the result is gorgeous curls?

I’ve always been interested in the technique-  and I know I must sound crazy because I have naturally curly hair.  But sometimes I feel like my curls are erratic…unpredictable…frizzy…fluffy…it really all depends on the day.  So, I cut up an old t-shirt, and got to work.

My hair was already straight (I straightened it two days ago), so I spritzed it with water and curled small pieces all over my head.  For good measure, I also blasted it for a while with my blow dryer to heat everything up.

I thought it looked pretty cute in the rags!

DSC_0228-small

I also thought I looked like a 50s housewife, so I threw on some red lipstick and a retro-inspired dress.  Ya know…for good measure 🙂   I then waited a few hours (4 maybe?) and took them out.  Disappointment ensued:

DSC_0234-small

Yea. the little curly bits at the end are cute, but I could have done that in like 5 minutes with a curling iron.  What gives?

Well, I think I didn’t leave them in long enough, and some tutorials said you need to sleep on them.  I also might try it again starting with wetter hair- maybe my natural curl will help things along.  By the time I got to Brookline to meet up with Dave on his lunch break (for tacos and elote at Dorado Taco…yum!), most of the curls were gone and all I had was a little flip.  At least it was cute! 🙂

DSC_0244-smallDSC_0246-small cropDSC_0254-smallDSC_0277-smallDSC_0284-small07-09-15Dress:  eShakti
Bag: Jo Totes Mille Mustard
Necklace:  made by me 🙂  (using a camera charm from Michael’s)
Sunglasses:  Charming Charlie Backpacking Surf Rider Shades
Shoes:  B.A.I.T. Demi Wedge Sandal – Tatyana

5 thoughts on “a hair experiment

  1. Lindsey Puls (@HavClothWilTrav)

    I always have zero luck when trying anything new with my hair. Haha. So, I feel your frustration. Your hair does look super cute, though.. even if it wasn’t the look you were going for! I have a friend who curls her hair using a straightener and tinfoil and she swears by it (and apparently so do thousands of other people, I have still yet to try it). She made a video if you’re interested: http://www.have-clothes-will-travel.com/brittney-of-brittslook/

    Love that dress, too! Super cute!

    Like

    Reply
    1. jenniferrzasa Post author

      Thanks so much for reminding me about the tinfoil curling method! (I remember it from your Brittney post). I gave it a try this past weekend, and sadly it didn’t work- either I’m doing it wrong, or my hair is uncurlable! If I get a chance, I’ll post some pics of my attempt 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: yes, I’m wearing another hat! (aka my eShakti review) | Dressing With Class

Leave a Reply

